Withdrawal

I’m suffering from withdrawal. It’s not the first time, and it probably won’t be the last. No, I haven’t decided to eliminate caffeine or sugar from my diet and my body is staging a protest. This withdrawal is of a different sort, one that any avid reader can understand. For this morning (for the second time in as many weeks), I finished a trilogy that I can only describe as blockbuster.

When I reluctantly turned the last page of The Shadow Throne, the finale of Jennifer A. Nielsen’s beyond wonderful Ascendance Trilogy, there was some consolation. The third novel of the 13 Treasures Trilogy by Michelle Harrison awaited me. And even though a reader may wonder about the probability of completing two unforgettable series one after the other, 13 Secrets did not disappoint. So, after observing Sage’s metamorphosis from streetwise orphan to dedicated monarch, and cheering for the young royal and those dear to him every step of the way, I was privileged to continue the saga of another set of beloved characters. Rowan, a heroine in every sense of the word, takes her place among the most memorable young people in contemporary fiction. Her journey of discovery and acceptance, undertaken with courage and devotion (with a little help from her friends), wins her a favored place on many a bookshelf.

There is now a pleasant task awaiting me: penning reviews of all these unforgettable stories. Those that are not already on my site, http://bookandagarden.com, will be there soon.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theroommom
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 22:40:24

    I heart The False Prince! Best series I have found in awhile.

    Reply

  2. booklovinggrandma
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 13:56:43

    I can’t wait to read more of this author. I’ve read the first 2 books in the Unwanted series, and will have to clear my calendar so I can read #3. Thanks for your comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

