Child’s Play

Last week, I received an unexpected package. When I opened the box, what should be inside but some picture books published by a company called Child’s Play. I did not recall requesting any review copies in the recent past, so they were a pleasant surprise. (I have a feeling the books were sent my way by a fellow librarian and online book reviewer.)

When I read through the promotional materials and began to look at the books themselves, I began to understand why this publisher is named Child’s Play. Their offerings touch on, with simplicity and sometimes humor, situations that occur in many young children’s lives.

The first one I read, Momo and Snap Are Not Friends by Airlie Anderson, is a funny story about two critters–a monkey and an alligator–who meet and immediately enter into a contest of wills. I call this an almost-wordless book because the only text is the hilarious sounds made by the characters.

Then followed The Acrobat by Alborozo, a simply told story about a circus performer who nobody notices because they are watching other acts. When the unhappy acrobat leaves to find an audience that will appreciate him, something wonderful happens.

My reviews of these gems are on my site, http://www.bookandagarden.com. Take a look, and then share both with a young child in your world. And watch for my comments on the rest of the books.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Three Well Beings
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 00:55:45

    The book covers are very inviting! I am immediately drawn to them, so I hope the overall review will be positive. :-)

    Reply

  2. booklovinggrandma
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 21:44:34

    Not only are the covers inviting, but what you discover when you open the book is delightful! Thank you for your comment.

    Reply

  3. ssgt leslie
    Jan 08, 2014 @ 19:00:32

    interesting topics and story lines. thanks for sharing and posting. enjoy, shabbat shalom. perl

    Reply

    • booklovinggrandma
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:06:20

      Thanks, Perl, for your comment. I’ve enjoyed reading about your trip to Florida. As it’s now almost Adar, I’d like to wish you a gut chodesh, simcha, and a wonderful Shabbos.

      Reply

  4. AirportsMadeSimple
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 20:46:49

    These are great examples of you, the educator/librarian, not being disgusted with “new” materials for children. I am an objective observer, but I think one can get set in their ways, and I like the way you embrace change. It’s a tough thing to do (because I’m learning to do it now!). :)

    Reply

  5. booklovinggrandma
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:08:45

    Thank you for your comment. I also have to work on accepting that things change, and I have favorite books that aren’t exactly hot off the press. Yet part of me is delighted when I obtain good books for the library with the current year’s publication date.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

