Let’s Celebrate!

It doesn’t happen very often. Most of us don’t remember the last time it did. Perhaps that’s one reason it seems so special.

You’ve probably guessed the event to which I am referring. (If you haven’t, the cheerful sign-bearing turkey above provides an unmistakable clue.)

Yes, that’s it! This year, Thanksgiving coincides with the first day of Chanukah.

There are some obvious parallels, to be sure. Each holiday is replete with its own foods. What would a traditional Thanksgiving dinner be without turkey and pumpkin pie? And when we think of Chanukah, latkes (potato pancakes) and doughnuts come to mind.

However, the similarities go beyond the gastronomic. Each commemorates liberation from religious oppression: the Jews’ at the hands of the Greeks and the Puritans’ by those intolerant of their beliefs. When each group of people was delivered from physical and spiritual challenges, each had a similar response: to thank the Almighty for His many kindnesses. And even though the Jews show their gratitude by lighting the menorah and singing praises–and the Puritans expressed their thanks by sharing their bounty with family and friends (as do Americans to this day)–the idea is the same. For all of us owe a big “thank you” to the Source of the myriad blessings that come our way each and every day.

So rejoice in the knowledge that He guides and cares for us in so many ways. And please pass the latkes and yams.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AirportsMadeSimple
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 17:24:19

    I hope you had a wonderful time! Happy holidays to you. It’s moving along so fast this year! :)

    Reply

  2. booklovinggrandma
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 13:16:48

    Thank you, we certainly did. For the last night of Chanukah, we made a dinner party with our kids who live locally. And, of course, we filled up on latkes and doughnuts.
    Thank you for again liking my blog. Have a wonderful holiday season, and happy travels.

    Reply

  3. AirportsMadeSimple
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 20:57:16

    I have so much to learn. *sigh*

    Just a youngster, am I.

    (Hey, that rhymes!)

    I can tell you put a LOT of thought into this post, and possibly agonized on how to say things so as not to offend anyone. (Trust me, I’ve run across a person who would disagree with me if I said “Kittens are cute.”!. But we will not discuss that, as that is not the right positive energy wherewith we write our blogs.)

    Have you checked out “TuesdaysWithLaurie”? It’s a great WP blog which I think you will like. If I’ve seen you there, I apologize in advance, as I tend to get too many irons in the fire, and forget (but I’m forgetful, not rude–there’s a difference. ha!).

    Here’s the link: http://tuesdayswithlaurie.com/

    Anyway, I wish you the very best in 2014, and I hope to hear from you now and again when you have a moment from schooling those youngsters and teaching them “Books are your friends.”

    :)

    Cheers! D

    Reply

  4. booklovinggrandma
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:18:57

    Thank you for your insightful comment. I have been rather lax with this blog lately, as so many other things keep happening. I’ll definitely check out the blog you suggested. I hope 2014, now almost a month old, brings you all good things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 137 other followers

